Friends of Laurelwood Arboretum (FOLA) is a volunteer nonprofit conservancy whose mission is to preserve Laurelwood Arboretum as an oasis for the enjoyment of nature and to provide opportunities for environmental awareness through educational programs, community involvement and outreach activities.


To connect people with nature.

Core Values

  • Stewardship — Commitment to the conservation of this treasured oasis for present and future generations
  • Environmental Education — Engaging the public through ecological workshops, programs and activities
  • Horticulture — Pursuing excellence in landscape design and horticultural practices
  • Teamwork — Realizing our mission through the cooperative efforts of the FOLA Board of Directors, staff, volunteers, Wayne Township officials and employees, community organizations and members of the public.
  • Leadership — Cultivating emerging leaders.
  • Community — Promoting involvement through membership, volunteering, events, programs, tours, social media and outreach.
  • Financial Responsibility — Ensuring the future of Laurelwood Arboretum through effective fiscal management and fundraising initiatives.
  • Organizational Excellence and integrity — Commitment to the highest standards of professional conduct.

FOLA was incorporated in 2003 as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

The FOLA Board of Directors oversees the activities of more than 200 volunteers, who contribute more than 10,000 hours of work in the arboretum each year. FOLA is funded by membership dues, plant sales, grants and donations from individuals and businesses.

In 2007, a partnership was formed between FOLA and the Township of Wayne. FOLA assumed responsibility for maintaining and improving the arboretum’s horticultural inheritance. This includes managing designated public funds and Laurelwood’s employees and planning a variety of educational programs and activities for the community.

For more information and to join go to our Join/Renew page or contact us through or 973-831-5675.

To donate go to our donate page or contact us at or 973-831-5675.

FOLA Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Alice Moskowitz

Jim McHugh
1st Vice President

David A Kooistra
2nd Vice President

Ruth Hayden
Recording Secretary

Bill Lauber, CPA

Board Members

Dawn Healey
Regina Imperato
Margaret Kerstner
Bill Mains
Sara McHugh
Linda E Ransom, Esq.
Mary Jo Sichak
Diane Bromberg Stern
Rick Wild

Board Attorney

Stuart Reiser, Esq.

Executive Director

Elaine Fogerty

Advisory Council

Joseph DiGiacomo
John Hegranes
Bonnie Joachim
Andrew Lawn P.E. P.P.
Peter Lowry, CPA
Betty Montagne

Honorary Board

Alex Fadynich
Nancy Fadynich
Dr. Al Fitzburgh
Barbara Hegranes
Carol Huber
Roland Reynolds


Our Annual Reports

Previous years: